Squirrel raiding the parlour

This morning it was the birds particularly a blackcap and several bullfinches which were nibbling away at the pussy willow outside our bedroom window. But then it was raining and they were finding it hard to fins food. I soon went out and filled the bird feeders with suet pellets and sunflower seeds. It is quite a battle to keep the squirrels at bay from the bird food and they only seem able to get the loose food I place in the tray, which I aim at the birds who can't easily eat from the hanging feeders which are described as being squirrel-proof.

But this afternoon when I glanced out I saw this squirrel climbing acrobatically over the quite thin branches to get at the pussy willow flowers. I must admit I've never seen one eat them before. They must be very sweet. You can just see the remnants of the yellow flowers in its mouth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.