stuartjross

By stuartjross

Evening Walk

We had a site day today, quite damp but thankfully very close to home for a change.
Nearing conclusion of the project and almost as an after thought I decided on taking a few additional bits of data; nothing that was specified, I just thought it may be useful to the client.
To my horror an important bit of kit stopped working the way it was supposed to. The built in radio modem did not appear to be working. Fortunate to have the luxury of a spare GPS receiver I rigged that up and my colleague completed the work. This also ruled out a possible fault at the base station end.
I sought some technical support but all the suggestions offered I had already tried. These situations are gut churning. It is my newest and single most expensive bit of kit.
As I said the site was not distant and upon arrival home I cleaned some battery contacts (as a token gesture) and rigged the kit up again and flashed some slightly different commands at the device by bluetooth from the hand held computer used to control it. To my relief the LED which wouldn't blink earlier came back to life telling me that it was working in a less usual (base) mode. Heartened by this I rigged up everything again in the garden, as if to do a full survey, and this time tried to congigure to its more usual (rover) mode.
This is manifested by a change of flashing LED from long on, short off to short on and long off flash. It worked fine and I was able to resume as though doing real work again.
I am of the view that the problem was related to some unusual combination of software events.
After that, I took Caley for a very muddy walk up Maol Ruadh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.