Sing, Little Birdie.

I'm finding it increasingly difficult to get out of bed early to enjoy the early morning delights of the countryside. However, I did manage it this morning. I was up before dawn and went up to a nearby area where I knew there would be lots of Curlew, Snipe and Lapwing. I was not disappointed. I had hoped to see Brown Hares, but they had been chased off by a fellow birder. I let him off, as he always has some fine intel about local sightings, especially owls and raptors. 
My current focus, for the purpose of bird surveys, is to improve my birdsong ID skills, so I was pleased with myself to correctly identify Goldfinch, Linnet, Robin, Wren, Chaffinch and Greenfinch (here). It's very satisfying to hear a song, then confirm the ID by seeing the bird in question in song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.