'Tis the season

The season for tourists to arrive to enjoy the famous Salt Spring Market, that is.  We had to go to Ganges today, and we had a wander around the market on its opening day.  It wasn't too busy, lots of locals taking it in before the hordes of tourists arrive.  Many of the vendors make most of their living from selling their wares at the market, so tourist season is important for them.  This vendor used to live down the road from us and makes little hair clips from feathers, beads and other assorted items.
G accidentally spilled water on the laptop yesterday and is so bummed out about it.  It stopped working and we're leaving it to dry out for a couple of days.  When I talked to Apple Support, the guy said that it might not work anymore because the water went in the vents in the back.  Not good news.  While I had him on the line, I told him about the recurring problems with the desktop, and he took me through some steps to try to improve things and speed it up a bit.  We erased the hard drive and reinstalled Mac OS Sierra - well,  we ended the call because the installation was taking forever and ended up taking nearly 4 hours.  The next guy helped me migrate my info from my external back up disk, but I lost some stuff because I hadn't backed it up for 5 days.  Lesson learned - I'll back up every day now, as I did on my laptop.  I really hope the laptop starts up when I feel that I've given it enough time to dry out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.