Spectacles

Went to Meadowhall to pick up my new specs today. One of the BOGOFs I got are transitions lenses so as it was a sunny day, I got a lunch deal from Boots and set off along the canal towards Rotherham in order to try them out. About a mile or so along the path is a small Sheffield Wildlife Trust-managed reserve called Blackburn Meadows where I took today's photo, but along the canal itself is great for wildlife.There were lots of dragonflies again and quite a few butterflies enjoying the warm sunshine.
This dragonfly is a Common Darter. You always see lots of photos of them because they settle a lot and often in the same place, so they are easy to capture. I've been trying recently to get some interesting backlit photos, and as my subject was very obliging, I tried a number of angles and camera settings. This is the one I was happiest with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.