dailykeith

By dailykeith

Lopera

I never cease to be amazed by the willingness of local Spanish people to give me help when I've needed it.

Today I was in a town called Lopera, roughly 30 miles east of Córdoba, where I wanted to photograph fields where British volunteers had fought in the Spanish Civil War. It is a continuation of a project on which I worked during my degree.

I have carried out a lot of research to try to pinpoint precise locations - in particular, where British poets John Cornford and Ralph Fox were killed - but accuracy has been difficult to achieve.

So when I went to Lopera, the first thing I did was seek out the Ayuntamiento, or town hall, to ask if staff could give me location details.

To cut a long story short, two members of staff did not just take time to chat to me, they got hold of a car and drove me to a remote site where Republican trenches were still visible. They then waited while I took a number of photos before driving me back to Lopera to show me two memorials in different parts of the town.

And it was all done with big smiles. Nothing was too much trouble.

In the picture are my wife, Dorothy, with my Spanish helpers Maria Angeles (centre) and Maria Jose (right).

I have to say that days like today are extra-special for me. Successfully breaking down language barriers, making new friends and being the recipient of their kindness is worth a hundred trips to the big tourist attractions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.