NellyO

By NellyO

Rainbow Wenlock

After an interview up in town I headed along the southbank to Southwark Cathedral refectory where I spent a really productive few hours working on a review I'm writing before meeting up unexpectedly with another couple of friends who are also down in London this week. The Wenlock and Mandeville (Olympics and Paralympics mascots respectively) statues are all along the south bank of the river - this Wenlock is between the Golden Hinde and the Globe Theatre.

When they first revealed the designs for the mascots I really didn't like them, and they got a lot of criticism in the media. However, when I was in London last month and walking past these statues, I was looking at one when this little kid came running up to it, then turned round to his mum with eyes like saucers saying 'look mum, it's WENLOCK!!!!' like it was the best thing that had ever happened to him, it was just the sweetest thing I'd ever seen and I must admit my cold cynical heart melted! I've also seen lots of kids clutching their Wenlock and Mandeville soft toys and have to say that I am now won over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.