They're Just Starting

These particular irises are from my Aunt Jeanne, given many many years ago. They are prolific. Several small lavender flowers on each stalk. If you look at the Extra, they are located on the left, just in front of the big white spirea. This morning the fog was in, giving the yard a silver glow, and the entire place was aflutter with cobwebs crisscrossing the yard, thin vibrating strings catching rainbows in the soft light. You can see how everything is about to burst: fruit trees, roses, iris--everybody wants to come out and play. Except me. I am feeling sorry for myself, and also feeling kinda stupid for overdoing the yardwork yesterday. My back is spazzing out today, big time, but seems to be calming down with alternating ice and heat. I probably wrote the same thing last year at this time; I'm too embarrassed to look. So I'm off the weeds for awhile. Maybe I'll get my garden fix by going to the plant store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.