Cailleach

By Cailleach

The Tale of a Coup.....

In spite of living about 100 yards from my primary school, I was always a couple of seconds late. I'd still be brushing my teeth/hair/dog when the bell rang, and would have to zoom along the road, pigtails and schoolbag flying behind me.

At the end of the school day it was the same story. My best friend and I were inevitably the last to leave the playground, and it would take us about 20 minutes to walk the few yards home, so busy were we, talking, laughing and singing.

My mother always referred to us as being 'at the cow's tail', a phrase that usually inspired my brother to mention cow pats!

Nowadays, I'm the opposite. I can't bear being late for anything and am most definitely at the cow's nose.......well away from coo poo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.