Apple Blossom Pink

More memories evoked today in and around the house I grew up in.  Staying with my Mum we have not planned any great adventures or outings.  We are just enjoying being together, doing normal stuff.  

We all slept late today, a rare luxury.  When we were launched into our day I set out to do some pruning in the garden.  A decent pile of arisings and a tidier looking corner.  Good.  Clearing up took a little longer than planned after I discovered the hard way that a bee or wasp had overwintered in the little finger of the gardening gloves .... OUCH and other choice words!!  Makes a change for me to go to the children and say "I gotta hurty finger" :-)  

Fifty years ago, as a small boy I climbed into the lower branches of the old apple tree in the garden, just as our children have done more recently.  Old and gnarled now, it still flowers and fruits well.  In the extra pic is a narcissus that was growing here when we moved in, the last survivor of many different types that were plentiful long ago.  It's scent transports me back .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.