Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

"The Journey" by Fenwick Lawson

A larger than life sculpture, carved in elm wood, using a chainsaw. Created in 1999, it can be seen in the Church of St Mary The Virgin on the Holy Island.

Six hooded monks carrying the body of St Cuthbert from Lindisfarne to Durham. A journey of faith, hope and love. An impressive work of art.

We crossed the tidal causeway to Lindisfarne, enjoying a visit to the Abbey, Museum, Church, and walk around the bay to the Castle, Garden and Lilm Kilns.

The Castle is currently covered in scaffolding, a huge restoration plan in progress. I was sorry not to have a good view of a place which inspired Charles Rennie Mackintosh.

"Leave me alone with God
as much as may be.
As the tide draws the waters
close in upon the shore
make me an island, set apart,
alone with you, God, Holy to you.

Then with the turning of the tide
prepare me to carry your presence
to the busy world beyond,
the world that rushes in on me
till the waters come again
and fold me back to you."
(Prayer of St Aidan of Lindisfarne)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.