Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Winchester's newest nature reserve

According to the BBC, the weather was supposed to be beautiful until gone 10am so I went out before breakfast for my blip.  In fact it is still beautiful now, at 5.30pm.  This is the furthest point on my walk, looking back towards the town.

This was taken on Barton Farm.  As you may know if you retain this sort of info on other people's journals (good for you!), Barton Farm is currently at the start of a long (10 year) project to have 2,000 homes built on it.  I may blip that from time to time though it doesn't interest me so much, I have to say.  However, the houses will be on the other side of the London mainline railway track, off the right hand side of this blip.  The land this side, nearer to where I live, has been handed over to the Wildlife Trust on a 120 year lease. The new fences are up and the green here is the start of the grazed wild flower meadow land it is to become (Exmoor ponies, anyone?).  I blipped my first shot of it in February

So this is the start of an occasional series marking the progress of the reserve.  It's agri-desert right now, it will be fascinating to see how the bio-diversity develops.

Many thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWed.  And enjoy your evening, lovely folks  xx

PS: Halfway down the hedge here you can see a white patch.  That's blackthorn (may) blossom.  I've added an Extra showing this closer up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.