The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Willow

This is the time of the year when the willows come into their own.  The male catkins, clusters of hundreds of stamens, adorn the bushes and small trees.  The naked flowers are designed for wind pollination, yet they are still an important food source for the early bees.  

This goat willow was on the edge of Hawes Water, a few miles from home.  Gus and I went looking for our first sand martins of the year (and yes, they have been with us for a couple of weeks now, but I haven't been anywhere to see them).  And while we were under the trees in Gait Barrows nearby, I heard the buzzing calls of a flock going over, but not stopping to feed over the water.  I guess the shallow lagoons at Leighton Moss are more productive of flying insects.

Speaking of willows, I heard my first willow warbler of the year early on Monday morning on the top of Arnside Knott, a week ahead of when I usually hear one.

It was a good end to the day, not one of my better days recently, but one that affirmed yet again how fortunate we are to have our National Health Service.  It served me so well today as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.