Adam's Images

By ajt

Spectacle!

Rounded up old spectacles tonight to send them for recycling. This pictures show the evolution over the years and is only missing my very first pair from my teens (stainless steel) and a pair of Zeiss plastic frames that failed catastrophically and no-longer exist. The first two pairs were re-used many times, as my prescription changed almost annually in my youth. The later pairs were replaced much more slowly and one pair only because the coating failed after a few years.

All these pairs have plastic photochromic lenses, which I've had so long that I can't remember not having them and couldn't imagine summer without them now.

The bottom pair are my current ones and have a titanium frame and are varifocal too - I'm getting old! I didn't actually dislike the previous pair at all - in fact I was rather fond of them, but for best results it helps to have a larger rather than smaller frame, so I went for a new frame, rather than sending them for re-framing.

Cycled to and from work today. A bit cool on the way in, but surprisingly nice on the way home. Managed a decent average and felt pretty good when I arrived home. Didn't do any actual work at work, the new infrastructure I'm supposed to use is an utter joke and is not fit for purpose. I went through some corporate training and was very annoyed that even though they mentioned open-source software they still go the wrong end of the stick...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.