Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Town

After two failures at getting to football matches in the past week, it was a relief that a plan came to fruition at last.

I'd been lured in by Huddersfield Town's flash sale of £5 tickets for tonight's Championship fixture at home to Norwich City. The TV cameras were in and I think they wanted to make sure they had a full stand behind the goal, and the tactic seemed to work.

This was my first Championship fixture of the season, as Nephew #3 has had a frustrating year with injuries so we haven't made any trips over to watch Blackburn. Given I spend most of my time at League One, National League and National League North matches I was curious to see if the football was noticeably better quality. It probably was, although that doesn't necessarily mean more entertaining.

It was a goalless first half, but then Huddersfield scored three inside eight minutes midway through the second half, with no reply from Norwich. Even better, the goals were scored in the one I was sitting behind. The win puts Town back up to third in the table but still some way back from Brighton and Newcastle who are occupying the automatic promotion spots. So the play-offs seem likely - what chance a Huddersfield-Leeds play off final for a place in the Premier League?

This was my first visit to the stadium, although I've admired it from the TransPennine Express trains since it appeared in the mid-90s. The curved stands give it a distinctive look, although the open corners let a lot of the Yorkshire wind in. As a neutral the atmosphere was good and I'll probably go back again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.