fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Great Grandma's Recipe Book

A collage I put together of my maternal great grandmother's recipe book that I had saved from some of the things my mother's youngest sister had...My dear Aunt Emily.  I had saved this from clearing out her apartment after she passed away....I think in 2005 or around then.   I relocated it amongst some boxed things...sent an image of it to my cousin Charled in Cleveland.  He was so as excited as he loves family things and asked me to scan all of it for him and sent that then to him.  I said ok , but don't hold your breath.  It's fragile and I'm not sure how to do that and don't have the time.  But , better yet, I decided , since it's his birthday soon just to wrap it up and send it to him.  I included a little pkg. of round white reinforcement circles so he could fix the pages up.  I wrote him a birthday card and said all I wanted was for this to be kept in the family and who better to do this than him...and then he can hopefully pass it on to one of his kids or another family member.  I didn't think my son was interested.
      This recipe book was put together by my Aunt Emily as some kind of college course project I think.  There were also some of her recipes and my mom's older sister Laura's.  My great grandmother was born in Czechoslovkia but later became a gourmet chef in Austria...so the story goes.  My Aunt Emily always raved about her wonderful cooking.  Many of the recipes are "bohemian" and heavy ....lots of things with breads etc.  My cousin loves this kind of food to this day.  I copied a few recipes, but will never cook any of them...or doubtful so I figured better he have this treasure than I anymore seeing as though I hadn't used it at all.  So while he may be cursing me for saying "don't hold your breath" to his request to scan the book for him, I think when he opens the gift he'll be blessing me ha ha.  In the extra I put the bohemian almond cookie recipe again to maybe better view it.  enjoy:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.