Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Early in the morning

Early in the Morning is not only the name of one of my new favorite tunes, but it's also when this photo was taken - early this morning. After enjoying what felt like an endless stretch of warm, sunny days (OK, it was about a week's worth, but that's considered an endless stretch, here in the Pacific Northwest), this morning's dark and foreboding appearance was quite a surprise.

I have looked out over this field (over 80 acres) and the farmhouse off in the distance (my neighbor's parents) for many years now. This is my backyard, so to speak. One of my early, and still unaccomplished photo project ideas was to photograph the field, the house, and the two silos south of the house, once per month from the exact same position. My goal was to capture the subtle changes in color and light, both in the sky, and in the field itself as the seasons flowed from spring to summer, then fall to winter. I would have framed the series of seasonal shots, and presented the finished product to the folks who live in the house you see here.

Well, enough of that.

This thick fog lasted until late morning when it finally burned off, the sun emerged, the sky turned blue, and order was restored in my corner of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.