Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Happy Hour

After spending most of this delightfully warm day indoors, tethered to my computer, it was nice to get up, get out, and get over to Happy Hour on the marina!

My first inclination was to submit a photo of the glasses on our table, covered in condensation and looking terribly delicious and refreshing. But instead, I decided to share this photo of the scene directly to the left of me - the large window shade creating a blurred, muted background, while the women in front of the shade remained in sharp relief, engrossed in animated conversation.

I have always enjoyed people watching, and growing up in urban areas afforded me plenty of opportunities to observe rainbow assortments of people as they passed by. At times, I would deliberately walk straight through the middle of a busy crowd, trolling for words, allowing the hum and chatter of their talk to flow over me, catching fragments of conversations in my net. Sometimes the juxtaposition of topics would be very funny, sometimes, quite odd.

Today, while sipping my Key Lime martini, I allowed myself a few dreamy moments to gaze about the Happy Hour room, observing facial expressions, posture, body language, clothing, even hairstyles. What an interesting species we are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.