Found

These are three of my most treasured possessions: two initialled serviette rings given to my parents as a wedding present and one, which was from a set of 5, given to my grandfather by his workplace when he enlisted in the war.
All in mint condition as there isn't much call for silver serviette rings on farms in western NSW. (Or at the war, but I think it may have been WW2 when he served locally, not WW1 when he was at the Western Front).

When I went to get them out for the Christmas table they were missing.
I always keep things like this in a certain place and there were only two possibilities. I couldn't really believe someone would have stolen them and after much brain racking I wondered if I might have put them in a box of things to be saved last time a bushfire threatened.

Needless to say I had searched everywhere and almost given up hope.
But when I opened up the best cutlery for our dinner party on Tuesday, there they were in the box with the forks, ready for evacuation :-)
I couldn't believe my eyes and am so happy.

Which just goes to show how long since I had a proper dinner party :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.