Home....

What a day! Mary, Joyce & Maura all had to be to the airport around 5:00 a.m., so left on the hotel shuttle around that time. I didn't have to be to the airport until about 8 or so. Mary found out at the airport that her flight home was cancelled, so re-scheduled it for tomorrow, & came back to the hotel; we went for breakfast, & I left for the airport. I was in line to check my bag when I got a text that my flight was delayed until 12:30. At least it wasn't cancelled, so I meandered around for awhile, then headed toward my gate when I got another text......my flight was now at 11:30...even better--only an hour late. I went to my gate-- where the sign said the flight was on time--sat down & got a text saying my flight was delayed until 0730 on 4/7!! So I went up to the desk to see what was going on, & the lady at the desk checked & said it WASN'T delayed and that I must have misread it. As I'm showing her the text, another one pops up saying my flight was now "delayed" until 12:30 on 4/7--which I showed her. So she called someone and then came to tell me to ignore these and any future texts---that there had been a problem with the plane but a new one was coming from Houston, would be there by 10:10, we'd be in the air by 11, should only be about half an hour late, & that whoever was sending out the texts obviously couldn't keep track of the date!! Fortunately she was correct on all counts--and except for some vicious cross winds as we came in over the Lake--making the plane (& my stomach) pitch like I was on a roller coaster--we landed exactly 30 minutes later than our original time! Sad that our trip is over, but still happy to be home, where Tom was inordinately proud of himself for doing a load of wash while I was gone...... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.