End of term

It's aways good to see berberis darwinii in Edinburgh: it means ours will be out in a couple of weeks!

At the last lecture of my course the best student group gave their power generation presentation to the class and I rewarded them with their own power source: four AA batteries each! It's a bittersweet moment, when a course​ that has been fun for me and a lot of the class, but lots of work for all, comes to an end. The good thing is that it doesn't all end there: three years ago this course inspired my current PhD student to work with me and one enthusiastic student came up at the end to chat to us about further study. Both Bulgarians, and with another Bulgarian and a Pole from the class doing projects with me later, I'm thankful for the outstanding eastern Europeans we get, particularly since they will probably stop coming when the full force of Brexit takes hold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.