Robin at large

By Robin

St Nicholas Kirkyard

The photograph today shows the entrance to St Nicholas Kirkyard, a monumental arch. The view here looks out onto Union Street. I thought the view in the other direction included too many tombs. I am not sure if the arch and associated screen were designed by Archibald Simpson, the architect who contributed so much to the look of Aberdeen today.

The lamps and hanging baskets lead from the entrance from the entrance to the churchyard up to the church itself and look quite colourful.

From here I proceeded to John Lewis where I indulged in a cream cake and a coffee. John Lewis frequently has some quite attractive displays which I have featured here previously. In fact it did not disappoint on this occasion either as there aaas a colourful display for "Trick or Treat". Surely they are a bit too early. The remaining Olympic and Jubilee items are tarting to look like a reminder of a summer past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.