Robin at large

By Robin

Queen's Road

I go up and down Queen's Road several times every week, either in the car or less frequently on the bus. I have often thought this building was worth a blip. Queen's Road I imagine was once a street of prestigious private houses. Most of these have now been converted into offices, then there are a few bars, pubs and hotels. It is also a very busy road, one of the main roads leading out of Aberdeen to the West, so suffers from too much traffic.

As I was walking along part of Queen's Road today I had the opportunity finally to take a picture of this house. It appears it is one of the relatively few buildings not to have been converted into an office. The upstairs rooms seem to have dressing tables in front of the windows. It may have been subdivided into flats.

I find the building itself to be a slightly eccentric and overly grandiose design. These circular turrets do seem to be quite a popular feature of many of the buildings in Aberdeen. I may post a few more of the more extravagant house designs in Aberdeen over the coming months.

The sun was shining at this point, but the day has been mostly cloudy and quite windy. I thought I was lucky to complete the walk without getting caught in the rain as the sky looked quite threatening.

With this posting I am finally up to date again. So no excuse for not commenting on others, where I have been very quiet recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.