Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Sharing

A tufted titmouse and a downy woodpecker sharing the peanut feeder.

In other bird news - I've been going twice daily to a friend's house down the road for the past week to feed her cat while she and her husband are away visiting their youngest daughter and newest grandchild in Oregon. While I'm there I'm also tasked with putting birdseed on the porch railing for her yard birds. I'm in the habit of watching for a bit after I go back into the house because the birds - a wonderful variety of them - sweep in immediately to have their breakfast. This morning I was suddenly astonished to see a red-breasted nuthatch! I wasn't sure I wasn't just dreaming, so I stayed and watched for a bit and back it came. Three times I saw it - definitely a RBNU. Which, I might add, I've never seen one of before. They are a bird that would only be here in the winter, and even then they don't often come this far south. Whoohoo! A new bird for my list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.