Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Red-winged Blackbird (female) & Mourning Dove

It's been raining/snowing all afternoon here, with nothing sticking on the ground - but it's enough to have gotten the birds into a panic (quick! buy groceries!), so I've been having an highly entertaining bird situation right outside the door. I was visited by this red-winged blackbird female - which is really unusual - there are two males that appear regularly, but I never see the female(s). And then there was also the female Eastern towhee, which was a special treat - because, again, I only ever see the male. And then the most bizarre thing was that when I went down the drive in my car to head over to my friend Martha's house to feed the cat, there was a broad-winged hawk, of all things, sitting on the fence across the street. They shouldn't even be back from Costa Rica (or wherever in that vicinity) yet! Equally bizarre was that I had a camera with me. I will attempt to add photos of the female towhee and the broad-winged hawk as extras. The hawk was taken through the wet windscreen of the car and is thus a bit soft.

You may have noticed regarding the female red-winged blackbird that she is not black. The best clue for me when I see what looks like a very large sparrow is that her beak is very very pointy - like her mates. The rest of her is totally confusing.

The mourning dove is just a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.