White faced heron.

Blipmate and I drove to Marahau this morning hoping to see the elusive banded rail. We didnt, but we did see a heron fishing right beside the track

A hard choice today but I finally decided on the heron standing up to his ankles in water.  For a tidal area the water is extremely clear and the yellow feet under water are seen clearly .  In the extras Is a back view as he used his wings to propel him full speed to the meal he just spotted,  the heron fishing with his face in the water and a take off to a better spot.

Tomorrow, my daughter and her husband arrive from Germany for a two and a half week visit. I am so excited. At this stage I don't know whether I will be able to continue to blip and comment. I will do what I can, when I can, even if it is just sprinkling stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.