What a Day!

We were up early this morning as Lorraine wanted to leave by 7am, and I'd offered to cover the morning shift at work, so had to open up at 8.30am. I was only there a couple of hours though and was finished at 11.15am. There's no set pattern to Saturdays, but Anja one of the physiotherapists has a clinic so it's a case of being there for her. Luckily she only had two patients today though.

Once I'd finished I went to Tesco to do a food shop, then picked up the boys and met Chrissy at the beach. We walked to Ovingdean where we had a drink and then walked back. It was so warm and the sea was as calm as a lake - the colours were amazing too!

On my way home I stopped at the betting shop - this isn't something I usually do, but today was the biggest horse race of the season, the Grand National. Rach had text me to tell me there was a horse racing called One For Arthur, and as that was my dad's name I had to go and place a bet.

Alan flew back from Phoenix and arrived home at 4pm, bearing gifts of champagne and Chanel perfume. We sat in the garden and then went to watch the race, and Arthur was at the back of the pack, but as usual there were a lot of fallers, and there was no mention of him, so we assumed he was out too. Then just before the end, he appeared from nowhere, and took the lead. I don't think I've been as excited in a long time and was shouting for him to come on, and was practically riding with him, and he won!! It was a great race and all horses made it round safely - it's a very controversial race as the fences are so big and there are so many horses, that sometimes they fall badly and end up having to be put down. Thank goodness that didn't happen this year.

It was well worth my £5 bet for the excitement, I'll go and collect my winnings tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.