TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Acer negundo 'Variegatum' - Ashleaf maple

I am told this is a very common tree in the US particularly, but I have never seen one before. Today I called to see a friend and having never been to their house before was stunned to see this huge tree in their front garden. It has just about lost its leaves, but is laden with these seed pods which are described as helicopter seeds.  They literally twirl off the tree in the wind and are dispersed in this manner.  The tree looks to be covered with creamy tassels. The seeds are in the upper part of the pod where they join.  I have put a pic of a twig in extras so you can see how they hang from beneath the leaves. Apparently these seed pods only appear not he female tree. Also I couldn't resist the lichen along the branch. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.