Old Man of the River

I confess I took this a couple of days ago, but keep being drawn back to it.  This eucalyptus is on the edge of the road, close to our Aquatic Centre and gymnasium.  Behind it you can see the trees edging the beautiful Goulburn River, while across the road, behind me, is the CBD of Shepparton.  I am so drawn to trees like this because of the history they have overseen - from the tranquility of a landscape yet to be taken over by white settlers then ultimately to the urbanisation of an area still important our our indigenous people. One has only to stop and take in its huge gnarled trunk and bleached white limbs to feel truly humbled by its timelessness.  How could I not be a "tree hugger"?
The "apparition" to the right of the tree is my attempt to remove a power pole and white box with nothing to use but the retouch button on my iMac. Apologies to the purists.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.