Go on, let me in, I used to work here!

I don't think you are supposed to get into this place, unless you work there of course!
I was on my way back from picking something up at Cleeve Hill, near Cheltenham, and this is a very short diversion from my route.

It was called RAF Boddington, located between Gloucester and Cheltenham, and it was the last place I worked when I was in the Royal Air Force. I left 19 November 1978. Now it is still owned by the Ministry of Defence but called ISS Boddington.
Three times I was posted here, due to the type of work that is carried out in the concrete bunker-like building. It is very well protected and I remember the Provost Services (RAF Police or other branch of the Military Police) would try to get in to plant dummy bombs or carry out some other act of espionage such as stealing secret documents if they managed to get into the building itself (not easy!).
On one occassion 'Rusty', a tan coloured Labrador dog owned by my friend Alan Wood who was the administration bloke, wandered up to him with the 'Bomb' in his mouth.
For that action he, Rusty not Alan, received an Air Officer Commanding's commendation for bravery and initiative.

"That'll do dog, That'll do"! (misquote from the film Babe).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.