Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

9486

Wasn't looking forward to today, but am now very chuffed,

I entered the Sheffield half marathon ages ago, but a really dodgy knee has cut back my training to a measly 7km for the whole of February and March put together.  I kept up the carb-loading though ;)  I have never done any form of organised running ever, and I was wondering if I should have started with a 5k or 10k as I was getting ready.

So at 09:30 when a big horn sounded in the centre of Sheffield I was not 100% sure if I would be able to do it.  My right calf cramped up almost immediately and slowed me down (fortunately it went after about 5 miles) and I had to walk up for the majority of the ascents.  It was also bloody hot (I am sporting the classic tomato face as I type) and was grabbing so much water at every stop to keep me going.  

Apparently I even ran past Chris Wilder (the manager of the newly-promoted Blades) as he was cheering people on: didn't even clock him as I was huffing and puffing so much.

There were people who properly suffered and it was a shame to see so many receiving medical attention.

But I did it - in a mightily slow 2:45:01 - a PB ;)  ha ha ha

I was elated for all of 30 seconds until the t-shirt hander-outer guy said, "Well, here's an XL if I ever I've seen one!"  I am hoping he was referring to my height.

The crowds were immense: jelly babies being handed out by almost every kid on the route, tons of very-supportive cheering (that helped on many occasions) and even people out with hoses and water pistols helping to cool us down.

Sheffield Rocks!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.