an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Stag in Bath

A weekday early start for a Saturday as I headed to the train station, dragging my golf clubs behind me, to catch a train to get a lift to the stag do of one of my oldest friends. I have been cramming some golf in the last couple of weeks as I realised recently that it was at least three years since I had swung a club at all.

Five of nine stag goers were playing golf with the other 4 meeting us on the streets of Bath in the evening. We managed to play a short nine holes in the morning where my short game developed at University (when I should have been in lectures) was shown not to have deserted me bringing in a respectable score.

The afternoon session of a very long and taxing eighteen holes did however show the flaws in my long game. particularly off the first tee when it took me one drop, three shots and a lost ball just to get on the first fairway (I blame the big lunch and cider myself). Anyway after a few more holes the apple juice wore off a bit and I managed to pull my game back bit to make it respectable and fun. Ironically this improvement seemed to coincide with my 7 iron head snapping and flying off on the fourth tee.

As we were near finishing the round messages were coming in from the city centre where the other four in two groups of two seemed to be ensuring they never went thirsty again. We raced back to our accomodation and into town where we met up with two who were holding it together well and then went to find the other two in the pub. It took a while to find them as they had made some friends and were already on the cocktails.

That kind of set the scene from there. We had a lovely meal that at times got a tad boisterous and my parental warnings had to be used. To be fair if I had been drinking mojitas since 2pm instead of walking a stone of in exercise I think I would have been a bit rowdy too. It was fun to announce that I was here to enjoy a weekend away from parenting and so was not happy to be having to do it. Incredibly I also had a conversation with one of the mojitas boys where even in his state he gave me some advice on something that is bothering me that really made sense. I will have to thank him at the wedding, if he can remember who I am.

After the meal we made our apologies, left a big tip and headed out to the pub. We lost two along the way before finding a club where we didn't really fit it completely and where I spent the evening discussing my disappointment that this west country pub had no cider to anyone who would listen and where we all were silly and had a laugh. Basically a standard stag do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.