First & Last.

Another obstacle bites the dust.
One of the penalties of having a memory, senile from age about 20, is I can never remember who I told what to.
I mentioned, somewhere, recently, that while I have done the bulk of the cooking for the last few years, certain dishes were exclusively Alice's domain.

Obstacle 1. A decent pan of Broth. NOT that funny, thin, consommé like stuff, yer average Brit calls "Broth": 
I mean real broth, full of veggies so you can nearly walk across it.
It was palatable, but I've a long way to go to equal Alice.

Obstacle #2 was much more successful. I made an omelette which didn't stick to the pan and tasted as good as Alice's.

Obstacle #3 Braised Leeks, for tomorrow's Dinner.
I can state, with 100% certainty I shall never attempt a Christmas cake however.
First - small crop of Purple Sprouting Broccoli from the garden.
First - Crop of Leeks, many of which may end up Blanched & frozen.
Last - Not quite, but the Brussel's are drawing to a close; the last 2 plants are now in excess of 6' tall and flowering, as is the Kale, NOT that it's anywhere near 6'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.