CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Roaming on the common

I enjoyed being up early this morning, because the air was still, the sun was shining and I had things to do. Having done them, and returned home, I was rather less successful in keeping to my tasks. Sitting in the sun or in the cabin seemed so much more attractive.

After tea in the late afternoon, I drove up to my regular frisbee rendezvous with Andrew and Andy on Minchinhampton Common. Andy was rather late which gave me time to catch up with Andrew after many months of hardly seeing each other. there was a bit of discussion about dealing with niggling body injuries, which are a regular feature of getting to our age. I think we all dream of being fitter and being able to run around freely chasing the disc on the winds, but realism thankfully sets in before we hurt ourselves more with over enthusiasm.

The call of the pub interrupted proceedings, but I decided not to go as I was on cooking duties at home. So after they left for the delightful Crown in Frampton Mansell, I took my camera from the car and strolled a few yards towards a rather scrubby tree on the open common, where I'd noticed a couple of horses congregating as we threw our frisbee.

As soon as I moved towards them the little ass who was accompanying them started intently towards me and walked the thirty yards straight up to me to be stroked. It was so very charming to have such relatively wild animal, who roams across the many miles of the common amongst the herds of cows, prepared to strike up a conversation with me. I did talk to it and he looked at me and made small noises and rubbed their neck, nose and soft mouth against my hands.

When he realised I didn't have food, I presume, he wandered away to find some lusher grass on the roadside. Then in turn three larger horses and a smaller pony all followed separately for the same interaction. This picture is of the mare I think as she seemed slightly agitated on behalf of the pony. I am not a rider and have been kicked by horses before now, but I didn't feel at all threatened today, just very happy to share the beautiful evening with them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.