1000 Blips!

In the morning we went to the historic centre of Melaka. The former town hall is a huge, Dutch building which locals call the ‘red building’ because of the reddish pink that it is painted. It contains several museums, some more interesting than others!

After a leisurely lunch by the river we came here. It is a replica of the Sultan’s palace from around 1460, before the Portuguese, then Dutch, then British invaded. It was recreated from descriptions of the palace written in the Malay Annals which contain what’s known about pre-colonial history. There are apparently no surviving paintings of the palace. They also don’t know if it had a formal garden or not, but the replica palace has a very nice garden!


And today I reach 1000 blips. As with most blippers, when I started out, I never expected I'd get to 1000 blips. At the beginning I posted very irregularly but then got addicted and have been posting everyday (except one) since January 2015. It’s been great to be able to record this amazing trip on blip; friends can keep track of where I am, and it reassures my parents that I’m still alive and haven’t fallen off a mountain or been hit by a motorbike! I really appreciate all the comments and stars you leave on my journal although I rarely have time to reply or make comments on other journals. I do look at other journals when I can but mostly forget to even leave stars to show I was there. Now, I wonder if I can get to 2000???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.