Decorated

Melaka has the most [insert your adjective of choice here] rickshaws that I’ve ever seen. Here’s one of the many Pokemon ones. There are also Hello Kitty and Spiderman ones along with others I couldn’t identify. They have speakers playing loud music and at night they have bright flashing lights too.

This morning when I was packing up to leave Muar I realised that Tilly the tiger was missing. I took her off my backpack yesterday when I put it in the hold of the bus from Johor Bahru to Muar. I thought I’d put her in my day pack but when I emptied it out, she wasn’t there. She must be still on the bus. I went back to the bus station and asked at the ticket counter of the bus company if they had any lost property. The man I spoke to phoned the bus driver from my bus yesterday but he hadn’t found anything. He said the bus would be back in Muar about 2pm if I wanted to come back and look. I couldn’t because I had to get to Malaka to meet my friend N at 12pm. He gave me his phone number and I called later but he had no information and said he’d call me back but he didn’t. I guess Tilly has gone off to have adventures on her own in Malaysia!


I met my friend N at the bus station. She’d flown in to Kuala Lumpa this morning. We took a taxi to the hotel, had lunch nearby and then went to explore the city centre. We walked along the river and around the historic area identifying places we want to visit in the next day or two. As it cooled down in the early evening we went to the night market in Chinatown. It’s a combination of street food stalls (some smelling delicious and some looking very strange), souvenirs aimed at tourists and a lot of plastic stuff that I guess someone must buy but I’ve no idea why they’d want it! The extra is of the strangest sight we saw. No, it’s not a stuffed toy, it’s a real dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.