Muar

I got the bus this morning from Johor Bahru to Muar. It was a two hour journey on the most luxurious bus I’ve been on since South Korea. There were only 3 seats across the width of the bus so they were extra roomy and were comfortable and reclined a lot. (I think there was more leg room than you get on most economy class flights.) It was totally unlike the squashed bench seats covered in plastic that you get on Sri Lankan buses! The air conditioning was so strong that I had to cover my arms as I was cold! Once we left Johor Bahru city, the scenery was almost nothing but palm oil plantations. Everywhere was covered with neat rows of palm trees. I didn’t see any land being used for growing food, just a few coconut trees at the side of the road.

Muar is a small town on the west coast. In the afternoon I went to a watch repairer to see if they could fix my watch strap which broke at the bus station in the morning. They couldn’t. Then I walked around the ‘historic’ area of the town and along the river. This is a Mosque on the opposite side of the river. I liked the way the pastel colours of the mosque matched the muted colours of the landscape in the afternoon haze. The extra is the sun setting over the river.


For dinner I went to the street that has lots of street stalls. I tried the local speciality which is fish or prawns lightly spiced and then cooked in a banana leaf over a bbq. It was tasty but only a snack. Then I went to a busy cafe but after they went to find someone who spoke English to tell me what I could have, it turned out they didn’t have any food left at all! I found another one which was also busy and their food was good. Tomorrow I meet my friend N in Melaka.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.