Simple

You would think it would be easy to use wouldn't you?
Not for SWMBO.
Since her last stroke she has had a complete mental block about how to use it. She knows it is a can opener and is a simple item to use. She even knows the theory of the mechanics. But it doesn't matter how often she tries or how often she is shown, she just cannot use one.
We always have a laugh about it - but it must be so frustrating.

When I got up just after 7am, PD was already in and settled on the settee. I hadn't even heard hi being delivered!

He insisted on having a long walk (even though he isn't meant to at the moment), but I made sure it was more of a wander than a hike by stopping to take pictures ... like blossom,  the stream (which is surprisingly low), cow parsley and the light on mossy branches. Not forgetting the Daffodils turning to face the sun.

There was the usual visit to SWMBO's mother in the morning, but we had the advantage of not having to rush off to collect Squirrel from nursery.

I did a bit of sanding on the underside of my platter. It is going to take a while to finish making it as the wood is still wet - especially where there are patches of 'rot' (that will be sorted when I have got a couple of coats of sanding sealer on it and then pour in some thin superglue).
The actual turning is being done slowly as it still takes a bit of courage (I am a big feardie) switching the lathe on as the piece is 22"x16".
I am hoping that I will not lose too much of the spalting (the natural colour and pattern) when  start cutting the bowl on the top (the ring is the mounting fixed to the top so that I can work on the bottom).

We visited Bags and the monsters to wish them all the best for their trip to Disneyland (Paris) tomorrow.

We also phoned No1 this evening to wish him and the family all the best on their trip to his in-laws in Cyprus tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.