Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Spring Azure

First butterfly of the year!  Usually the first one I see is a Cabbage White, but this tiny blue flyer showed up when I was sitting on the patio this morning chatting with my parents.  All I had with me was the 300 lens which really isn't any good for tiny butterflies; but later today I spotted it again when I had the macro lens out.  So, after a bit of dashing to and fro, I nabbed a couple of reasonable shots.  I can tell I'm out of practice with the macro lens right now.

The cherry trees are just starting to pop their buds so all sorts of pollinators are showing up.  I got a few bee shots, but none that I was particularly happy with - I'll try again tomorrow when our temps should hit nearly 80.  

When I went to visit MIL around 11 this morning, she was still laying in bed - most unusual.  Anyway, I got her up and one of the aides helped her get "assembled" then we walked and chatted a bit.  Tomorrow morning I'll be going over earlier to try to get her in for a haircut.  She's never really enjoyed the whole hair salon experience so it's hard to convince her that she needs to sit still for a trim.  However, I shall not hesitate using the "boyfriend" card if necessary - that is, a boyfriend might be easier to find if one's hair doesn't look all crazy!  

An otherwise uneventful day, much of it spent outside enjoying the perfect spring weather.

xo
Debbi

PS:  I saw the male House Sparrow leaving the bluebird box today so I checked, and - sure enough - there were sticks in the nest.  I tossed them all out.  Hoping this doesn't discourage the bluebirds from nesting.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.