TINY TUESDAY

It’s always a bit of a worry when someone asks if you will look after something for them while they are away.  A friend has asked me to look after her orchid, and whilst I know how to look after them and have had many over the years, there is something inside me that worries that I might kill it and it will just be a shrivelled stick when she comes back to claim it.

I suppose in some respects an orchid isn’t quite as bad as having to look after a cat or dog or even a hamster, but it is a responsibility nevertheless.

However, this lovely bloom, for Tiny Tuesday - and it is quite a tiny flower - is just to prove to the said friend that at the moment, her orchid is well and happy and is even producing more blooms from the tiny buds on the plant.

I guess all this arises from the fact that very often we think we’re not good enough to carry out certain responsibilities without messing up.  After all, even if the plant dies - and I certainly hope it doesn’t - it could have died while in my friend’s care.  So every day, I keep examining the plant to make sure it is still healthy and hopefully I will be able to hand her back a blooming plant in fine fettle - and if anything untoward happens, I can always buy her another one!

Perhaps I should have more faith in myself and my abilities.

"Believe in yourself! 
Have faith in your abilities! 
Without a humble but 
reasonable confidence in your own powers 
you cannot be successful or happy." 
Norman Vincent Peale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.