Davaar Island and Arran from Kildalloig Bay

(or ... Large Rock with Small Fishing Boat)

10.6C with bright spells and a lot of cloud. Moderate NW/W breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound had a quiet evening. She slept through to the alarm clock, or at least didn't wake us until 5am but went back to her bed when I got up to see if she was ok. We went for our usual wander. That was the best part of the morning. The rest of it was not good. After lunch a very short walk. More settled in the afternoon.

After we went for the after lunch walk, if you can call it a walk, I sat with Maeve for half an hour. Then I went and got my car and drove myself round to the car park at the Doirlinn. From there I walked past the 2 mile milestone, past the 69 mile marker on the Kintyre Way, past Davaar House and round Kildalloig Bay to the 70 mile marker near New Orleans where I turned and came back. There were lots of Gannets diving in Kildalloig Bay. I have never seen them dive from so close to the water. There must have been a shoal of fish right at the surface. There were a few Terns too. I felt better for being out in the wind for a while.

At the harbour Nordic was almost fully loaded and more wind turbine tower sections were being lifted on board by the mobile quayside cranes.

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked):
Sanjeev Bhaskar, OBE is a British comedian, actor and broadcaster, best known for his work in the BBC Two sketch comedy series Goodness Gracious Me and star of the sitcom The Kumars at No. 42.
Sarah Millican, English comedian.

Afternoon music ... BBC Radio Scotland (which was mostly chat and news).

DMC-LX7 f/3.2 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 18mm (35mm focal length 180mm)

Note: One year ago today we arrived in Campbeltown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.