The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Ladybird Family Home

I went on another trip today, to Kingston via two trains and a bus. Spent the day with Anna, who also sells Phoenix cards and stationery. We sat in the garden and  I rolled up sheets of gift wrap until the plastic bags ran out. Anna's daughter was inside, learning how to be an animator.

Great to meet another trader and have plenty of time to talk! We have a few things in common, Anna and I, which is why we had decided to meet.
Sadly I had to leave before the  raw avocado and lime cake was ready.

This shot shows some of the desirable 1930s detached houses on the main road near Anna's.
The Ladybird books nuclear family of Mummy, Daddy, Peter and Jane lived in a semi detached house quite like this, I feel, except that theirs had the Edwardian pointy bits and was red brick. Possibly this one: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/66287425744453830/
They owned a car and took seaside holidays. No one ever got drunk or divorced in Ladybird book land. Middle-class with a capital M. Of course they are world famous now, thanks to the spoof books that were such a hit last year.

Back in Camberwell, the cats were happy  to see me. I'm now attempting to eat all the food I've bought, and finish a very hard jigsaw, so i have less to transport across London tomorrow. Toby the cat has other ideas about how to tackle the jigsaw. These involve flipping the pieces off the mat and trying to catch them,or lying on the table and gently rolling on the puzzle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.