Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Laís (and Nandinho)

Projeto Amar (Project Love - I have written about them before) sponsored a small Easter celebration at a public Day Care Center in one of the poorest neighbourhoods of our town. Some of the project's volunteers created a short muppet show for the kids, and then the 50 kids ate hot dogs and lots of cake. 
When they saw my camera, all of them wanted their pictures taken. One of them started to make faces at the camera, and then all the rest joined in. We had a blast. It took ages to photograph all of them, because every child wanted to see their picture, and many wanted to have another photo taken. It was a lot of work until all of them were happy with how they looked. But Laís was special.
The first time I pointed the camera at her, she changed completely. She got very serious and crossed her arms. At first, I thought she was mad at me for trying to photograph her, but when I lowered the camera, she smiled and wanted to see her picture. I pointed the camera at her again, and it took her only a split second to transform into this very tough little lady. She loved the picture. So here she is, completely different from how this sweet girl really looks like. 

(The extra shows Nandinho's reaction when I showed him one of his really silly shots.)
It was a lovely event, with lots and lots of wonderful tiny characters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.