Vandals strike again!

The yobs who woke us up at 3am the other night, shouting in the street, were the genuine article, real vandals, tipping over two salt bins in our street and leaving piles of grit in the road. It wasn't even icy!

The vandals that I really don't understand are the ones who vandalise by request and are even paid for it!  I went out earlier to trace the chainsaws which we'd been hearing for the last couple of days and found a crew of guys clearing up after carrying out some 'tree surgery' on a steep bank below a nearby road. When I asked why the trees were being cut down I was told by a monosyllabic man, 'View'. When I further enquired as to why they had been chopped off at 10ft or so, he replied, a touch more volubly, 'They'll sprout again'. He asked if I lived locally and whether I wanted 'some trees cut down', and I was tempted to reply 'If I did, I wouldn't ask you!' But I kept quiet.

I do find it annoying, however. Barely a day goes by in Oban without some further hacking. They should live in the Sahara desert, then trees wouldn't be a problem!

Enough of my moaning - tomorrow's Blip will be totally uncontroversial!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.