Morning Light Campbeltown Harbour, Beinn Ghuilean

9.9C with sunny spells and showers. Moderate W/WNW breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound almost slept through until the alarm clock. We went for our usual slow wander round to the harbour then back along Longrow. I noticed tall masts in the harbour but we didn't get far enough to see what sailing ship was in.

After breakfast and between showers I decided to take a wander over to the old pier near the start of Low Askomill. At 9.15am from left to right the ships in the harbour were Ayress (general cargo), Krislin (general cargo), Stavros S Niarchos (sailing vessel), and Viking Caledonia (fish carrier). I would like to walk up Beinn Ghuilean again before too long.

After lunch Maeve and I went for a short walk. She didn't want to go as far as the harbour today and that's ok.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for another walk. I went round past Aquilibrium and had a wander past the old quay. Ayress and Krislin were taking on the huge pile of wood which has been accumulating on the old quay. Then I went on round the harbour and along the little park by the ferry terminal and out Kilkerran road and had a circuit of the cemetery.

When I had been doing more research for the "Raiders of the Lost Archive" (of The Picture House) this week I had come across a photo of the headstone of one of the shareholders of the Picture House who had run The White Hart Hotel in Campbeltown in the early decades of the 20th century. I found the headstone and took a new photo.

I came back along the street side of the park. Viking Caledonia was crossing the loch to head out to sea past Davaar island. I came home through town passing the town hall and the bookshop (open).

Podcasts of BBC Radio 4's Desert Island Discs on the Clip (as I walked):
Ian Fleming. English author, journalist and naval intelligence officer who is best known for his James Bond series of spy novels. Only an excerpt of the recording of the program still survives.
Jack Vettriano OBE (né Jack Hoggan), Scottish painter.

Afternoon music ... 70's Classic Rock playlist on Spotify.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/2000 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.