Protuberance

Fantastic views of proboscis monkeys along the Brunei River this morning. They really are quite odd-looking. Also saltwater crocodiles and a group of otters (otherwise known as a romp (!) or 'h-otters, you know, like seals' according to my guide) was basking on a jetty in the sun. It was great how close the wildlife was to human habitation, even quarrying and other wildlife non-friendly activities, and it's because Brunei has the small population and wealth to be able to strictly protect, and be better able to enforce wildlife laws.

A downfall of Brunei's wealth and car ownership is 'the school run'. After the morning river safari I fell asleep on the bus and missed my stop. No big deal, I just waited until the end of the route and came back with the bus. However 'the school run' had begun. As every  parent collects their kid singly in a large car, and no kids seem accustomed to taking the bus, the highway turned into a stationary parking lot that we were snared in and I had to scramble to get to the airport on time.

Getting to check-in and realising they've shoved you in a middle seat makes your heart sink more than seems reasonable. 

'In that case can you put me next to a small person?' (humorous tones)

'Sir, I can't see that information from the manifest.'

'Ok, a woman then?' (rating my chances of elbow room more highly)

<awkward silence>

Sounding like a complete creep, I dropped it and trudged off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.