Yacht Watching at Split Apple Rock

This afternoon Jack and I headed down to the beach at Split Apple Rock for a leg stretch.

I'm still full of lurgy - my cold seems to be getting worse as Easter arrives, typical! - but getting out for some fresh air helps. I think.

On my way down to the beach I saw two birds fossicking around in the dark damp bush that leads down to the shore. One was definitely a weka and although logic is telling me it can't be, I'm sure the other was a kiwi. I've seen plenty of weka in my time (including right up close on the West Coast) but the other bird had a different plumage and it had the distinctive round back profile of a kiwi. Surely it wasn't - was it?

I really wish I'd swung my camera out of my belt pack to put paid to my speculation. Ah well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.