Mothers of All Babies

Vulnerable we are, like an infant.
We need each other’s care
or we will
suffer.
--St. Catherine of Siena (trans. Daniel Ladinsky).

The Buddha’s wisdom says we will suffer, no matter what. Suffering seems inevitable to me, but having each other’s care is enormously helpful. 

Sue is off on a retreat for about a week. I’m back at my place, spending time with Evan today and with him and his sister tomorrow. Tonight, a meeting of the Environmental Concerns committee of the Buddhist Peace Fellowship. Meditation is always part of our meetings, and I feel a special need for it today. I appreciate Medea Benjamin’s suggestion that we form a new organization called “Mothers of All Babies, where women come together to stop this misogynist, war-loving president from blowing up all our babies by starting World War III.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.