Joe Walsh, "Lone Vet"

During the first week of my life in Portland in 2008, I saw Joe standing on one of the town bridges alone, holding a sign that said, “Support Our Troops? Bring Them Home!” As soon as I unpacked and shelved my books, I went out to meet Joe. It was easy to find him, as he has stood on a bridge every Friday evening, with some kind of peace sign, alone or with a crowd, for over fifteen years. He welcomed me on the bridge, handed me a sign, and when I wanted to go to Washington, D.C. in 2011 to join a “Stop the (War) Machine” demonstration, he gave me $50 and urged me to go. I am only one of hundreds who have enjoyed his generosity, and while peace is his first and main issue, Joe also supports unhoused people, opposes police “sweeps” of unhoused people’s camps, and has strong opinions about fluoride, city government, and gentrification.

Joe needs to take oxygen with him everywhere he goes, but that doesn’t stop him from confronting power.  He is comfortable shouting at public officials and interrupting public meetings to make his points, and he is a regular at City Hall, where he often testifies passionately and loudly. He calls himself “Lone Vet” and keeps a blog to update the community on issues he cares about, and I admire his persistence and commitment.

However I am averse to confrontation. When people shout or threaten each other near me, or vilify each other in social media, my heart pounds and my hands tremble, nausea rises in my throat. I admire Joe’s pugnacious intensity, but I’m constitutionally incapable of engaging in it. If it’s a public meditation, a moment of silence, a vigil, or a rally FOR something, I’m there. Organize AGAINST something, or call another activist a “shill,” or a “sell-out,” and I’ve left the room. I think each of us has to find our own way to stand up for justice.

On Thursday night we both showed up at a forum for mayoral candidates, and we listened to what they had to say. Sitting on the front row with Joe on my right and Sue on my left, I felt admiration for his commitment and his passion, and with the camera in my hands, I meditated on Joe’s alertness, his engagement, his readiness to fight for what he believes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.