My Great Success Story

By SavvyStereo

Whales and Dassies

We started the day off by driving to Muizenberg because I had a surf lesson booked! Courtney's grandparents thought I was crazy surfing in the South African winter, but I assured them it still wasn't quite a Welsh November.

The lesson was good and I progressed to a smaller board but I was finding it hard moving from simply catching the break to riding the green wave.

After this we joined the grandparents to go on a trip to Hermanus for some whale spotting.

There were plenty of whales, they were just a little far away. While I was enjoying a huuuuge (possibly two person) platter of sea food in Ocean Basket I spotted a whale right in the harbour, as clear as anything. I ran down to catch it but it was gone by the time I got there. Even at the distance the whales were at I could watch them for hours. I tried some photos but, although clearly a whale, they're not going to win a spot in national geographic. So instead I opted for this delightful little dassie (rock rabbit/Hyrax), one of the many that sprint around the rocks in an attempt to steal your attention from the whales.

After a drive back along the coast, past some lovely beaches and small holiday towns, Courtney and I met her cousin Danny and his girlfriend, Nicole, for some drinks in Somerset West.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.